DOUBLE REVERSE
DOUBLE REVERSE

Jesse is experienced as a wide receiver —but can he play against type and help his new team as a quarterback?
The Franklin High Panthers need a new quarterback. Freshman Jesse Wagner knows the plays, but he feels he is too small to be QB material. Jesse’s brother Jay has a problem of his own: his college coach wants him to switch from quarterback to safety. The brothers agree on a deal: Jesse will try out for quarterback, and Jay will try playing safety. Meanwhile, Jesse and his teammates recruit an unlikely kicker for their team —a girl named Savannah.
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword provides the real stories of successful professional athletes who did not “look the part.”

$5.95 View Product +
DOUBLE REVERSE
DOUBLE REVERSE

Calling all football fans! An action-packed Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen – perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

“This tale of confident persistence will ring true for all the kids who have been told they’re too small or too female…. An apt choice to surprise a young football fan with the power of words.” ?Kirkus Reviews

Do you have to be the “perfect” type to be a great football player?

Jesse is experienced as a wide receiver?but can he play against type and help his new football team as a quarterback?

The Franklin High Panthers need a new quarterback. Freshman Jesse Wagner knows the plays, but he feels he is too small to be QB material. Jesse’s brother Jay has a problem of his own: his college coach wants him to switch from quarterback to safety. The brothers agree on a deal: Jesse will try out for quarterback, and Jay will try playing safety. Meanwhile, Jesse and his teammates recruit an unlikely kicker for their team?a girl named Savannah who is a goalie from the girls’ soccer team.

In the afterword, Bowen provides real stories of successful professional athletes, like Pro Football Hall of Famer Fran Tarkenton, who did not “look the part.”

Discussion Guide available.

$14.95 View Product +
DUGOUT RIVALS
DUGOUT RIVALS

Jake Daley loves baseball. He loves playing for the Red Sox in the Woodside baseball league. He loves playing short stop. Most of all, he loves to win.
Jake is excited when newcomer Adam Hull is selected to play for the Red Sox. Adam can do it all—pitch, hit, and field. But as the Red Sox rack up win after win, and Adam’s talents dominate every game, Jake can’t help but wonder: Do he or the other players even matter? When Jake’s father tells him the story of Babe Ruth and the 1927 Yankees, though, Jake sees how even the best players must rely on their teammates.
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword provides the real story of the 1927 Yankees, the group that many have called “The Greatest Team of All Time.”

$6.95 View Product +
FINAL CUT
FINAL CUT

Four friends who share a love of basketball have to go through tryouts for the school team. But will they all make the team?
Ryan, Zeke, Eli, and Miles love sports, especially basketball. When it’s time for basketball team tryouts, they practice together, compete in a local 3-on-3 tournament, and carefully compute their chances of making the team. The tryouts are a test not only of their athletic skills, but also of their friendship. In the end, each boy learns how to cope with winning and losing (both on and off the court), the value of practice and competition, and the true meaning of friendship.
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with full court, play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! In the sports history epilogue, readers learn about other famous players, like Michael Jordan, who didn’t make their high school basketball teams the first time around.

$6.95 View Product +
FULL COURT FEVER
FULL COURT FEVER

The Falcons have the skill but not the height required to win their games. Will they be able to win the dreaded end-of-the-season game against their much taller rivals?
The Falcons have a problem: they’ve lost the first two games of the season. Although they have skill, they lack height. When Michael Mancino comes across an old issue of Sports Illustrated, he discovers the similarly vertically challenged UCLA Bruins who won the 1964 NCAA Championship with an aggressive and hard-to-beat full-court zone press. Will the Falcons be able to make a comeback and win against the much bigger eighth-grade team?
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with full court, play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword provides the real story behind the 1964 UCLA Bruins.

$5.95 View Product +
GO FOR THE GOAL
GO FOR THE GOAL

Josh and his talented travel league soccer teammates are having trouble coming together as a successful team.
All the players on Josh’s elite travel league soccer team, the United, are talented, but they each seem to be playing for themselves. As a result, they can’t win a single game. Tired of always losing, Josh begins to wonder if he made a mistake by leaving his old team. But just when Josh is about to give up on his new team, he makes a discovery: the 1999 United States Women’s World Cup team faced similar difficulties the year they won it all. Using team-building exercises was their solution, and Josh convinces his coach to try the same approach. Will they be able to turn the United into a real team?
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword provides the real story of the 1999 United States Women’s World Cup team.

$5.95 View Product +
GOLDEN GLOVE
GOLDEN GLOVE

Without his lucky glove, Jamie doesn’t believe in his ability to lead his baseball team to victory.
Jamie lovingly oiled his glove all winter and, as the season approaches, he—and his glove—are in top form. When he carelessly loses his glove, he also loses his faith in himself and it shows in his playing. After an unsuccessful search, Jamie borrows a glove for the season’s opening game. Disappointed in his performance, Jamie seeks help at a local sporting goods shop and finds it in the generosity of the store’s owner—a former minor league player. The old-timer uses the history of baseball gloves and a few fielding tips to demonstrate that no tool—even a lucky glove—is a substitute for confidence and determination.
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword provides the real story behind baseball gloves.

$6.95 View Product +
HARDCOURT COMEBACK
HARDCOURT COMEBACK

When a basketball team’s star forward loses his confidence, he has to learn how to think like a winner again.
Brett Carter, the Wildcats’ star forward, plays to win. Brett likes being the best at whatever he does. However, his confidence is shaken when he misses a routine layup during an important game and his team loses. Now every time he is on the court, his heart starts pounding and he feels something he has never experienced before: fear. When his coach tells Brett about well-known players from the past who made successful comebacks after disappointing performances, Brett realizes he can overcome his nervousness. But is it too late to save the Wildcats’ season?
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with full court, play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword offers more information on well-known players and their hard-fought comebacks.

$5.95 View Product +
KID COACH
KID COACH

Scott and his teammates can’t find an adult to coach their team, so they must find a leader among themselves.
The Tigers are in trouble. Baseball season is underway, and Coach Skelly has just quit. When Scott and his teammates can’t find an adult to coach the team, it looks as if the Tigers’ season might be over before it really begins. But then the players have an idea: what if one of them became coach? They learn about leadership and discover unique and unrecognized talents among their own friends.
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sport Story Series with play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword provides the real stories of player-managers in Major League Baseball history.

$6.95 View Product +
Lucky Enough
LUCKY ENOUGH

Trey is overjoyed when his lucky charm helps him make the travel team, but will his luck hold out?
When Trey’s treasured lucky charm—a piece of blue sea glass he found near his grandmother’s beach house—”helps” him make it onto the Ravens travel team with his friend Cole, he is overjoyed. This stroke of good fortune reinforces his superstitious behavior, and the rituals become more and more important to him. In spite of some teasing and even some sarcasm from his teammates, Trey persists—he never steps on the foul line, he obsessively taps the corners of home plate when he’s at bat, he always chooses the same lucky bat—and the list just keeps getting longer. Why stop? After all, his tactics are working; he’s doing quite well on the field and in the batter’s box. Then one day he can’t find his lucky sea glass. He and Cole search everywhere—but it’s no use. Trey’s performance begins to slip, and he is convinced that his future with the Ravens is doomed. It is no comfort to him to learn that many pro baseball players also depended on lucky charms or rituals. Things don’t start to improve for Trey until his uncle reminds him of his grandmother’s favorite saying: “The harder you work, the luckier you get.”

$14.95 View Product +
OFF THE RIM
OFF THE RIM

Will Chris ever be more than a benchwarmer?
Chris desperately wants to be more than a benchwarmer on his basketball team. Hoping he can get more playing time, he asks his friend Greta, the high-scoring star of the girls’ team, for help with his shooting skills.
But it is Greta’s mom—a former basketball star who never even scored a basket—who teaches Chris how to change his strategy and become a success on the court.
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! Back matter features a real-life lesson from sports history.

$6.95 View Product +
ON THE LINE
ON THE LINE

Marcus is the high scorer and best rebounder on his basketball team, but he’s not so great at free throws.
When Marcus misses four free throws at the end of an important game and his team loses, he begins to lose his confidence on the court. But with the help of the school custodian, Mr. Dunn, he learns about the “granny shot,” an unorthodox way of shooting foul shots, and about Rick Barry, the former NBA star who used it. Marcus tries the shot, but he resists using it because it looks silly. But when he finds himself on the foul line again in a crucial game, will he be able to overcome his pride?
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sport Story Series with full court, play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! A sports history epilogue provides an inside look at NBA player Rick Barry and the infamous granny shot.

$5.95 View Product +