DOG DAYS IN THE CITY

Twelve-year-old Josie must find forever homes for seven rambunctious foster puppies in this heartwarming sequel to The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, which the Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books called “a compelling story that will appeal to the animal fans who loved The One and Only Ivan.”

Anytime Josie Shilling’s large family gets too chaotic, volunteering at the local animal clinic is the one place she can escape—and she loves working with the animals. But when a box mysteriously appears on the clinic’s front steps, Josie suddenly becomes responsible for seven adorable puppies!

Taking care of her pig, Hamlet, last fall was a bit harder than she thought. So how is she ever going to handle a whole litter of mischievous pups and find the right homes for them all? This summer will bring big changes for Josie as she learns about growing up, letting go, and loving your pack no matter what.

Dog Days in the City is a heartwarming blend of coming-of-age and animal friendship story that is perfect for fans of Ann M. Martin’s Rain Reign, Joan Bauer’s Almost Home, and Barbara O’Connor’s Wish.

$6.99 View Product +
Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City
UNLIKELY STORY OF A PIG IN THE CITY

This delightful middle grade novel is a modern-day homage to Charlotte’s Web, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Cammie McGovern.

“We fell in love with The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City! No matter how big she gets, there’s always room for Hamlet in our hearts.” —Steve Jenkins and Derek Walter, New York Times bestselling co-authors of Esther the Wonder Pig

A little pig in a big city leads to lots of trouble!

Josie Shilling’s family is too big, their cramped city house is too small, and she feels like no one’s ever on her side. Then, on Thanksgiving Day, her older brother, Tom, brings home a pink, squirmy bundle wrapped in an old football jersey—a piglet he rescued from a nearby farm. Her name is Hamlet.

The minute Josie holds Hamlet, she feels an instant connection. But there’s no room for Hamlet in the crowded Shilling household. And whoever heard of keeping a pig in the city? So it’s up to Josie to find her a forever home.  

The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City is a heartwarming tale of family, belonging, and growing bigger when you’ve always felt small.

$6.99 View Product +