Book Selections for Student 1

** Select the books you would like by checking the box next to the title. You may choose 5 books. **

Cover Title Description Select
Abe's Honest Words Abe's Honest Words From the time he was a young boy roaming the forests of the unsettled Midwest, Abraham Lincoln knew in his heart that slavery was deeply wrong. A voracious reader, Lincoln spent every spare moment of his days filling his mind with knowledge, from history to literature to mathematics, preparing himself to one day lead the country he loved toward greater equality and prosperity.
ALEXANDER HAMILTON:  THE MAKING OF AMERICA ALEXANDER HAMILTON: THE MAKING OF AMERICA The America that Alexander Hamilton knew was largely agricultural and built on slave labor. He envisioned something else: a multi-racial, urbanized, capitalistic America with a strong central government. He believed that such an America would be a land of opportunity for the poor and the newcomers.
ANNIE AND HELEN ANNIE AND HELEN The story of Helen Keller in a fresh and original way that is perfect for young children. Focusing on the relationship between Helen and her teacher, Annie Sullivan, the book is interspersed with excerpts of Annie's letters home, written as she struggled with her angry, wild pupil. But slowly, with devotion and determination, Annie teaches Helen finger spelling and braille, letters, and sentences.
AT BATTLE IN THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR AT BATTLE IN THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR The colonists in America are rising up against the British government.
BOLD AND BRAVE: TEN HEROES WHO WON WOMEN THE RIGHT TO VOTE BOLD AND BRAVE: TEN HEROES WHO WON WOMEN THE RIGHT TO VOTE From United States Senator Kirsten Gillibrand comes an inspiring picture book about ten suffragists who fought for women's right to vote.
FREEDOM ON THE MENU FREEDOM ON THE MENU There were signs all throughout town telling eight-year-old Connie where she could and could not go. But when Connie sees four young men take a stand for equal rights at a Woolworth’s lunch counter in Greensboro, North Carolina, she realizes that things may soon change. This event sparks a movement throughout her town and region.
HISTORY SMASHERS: THE MAYFLOWER HISTORY SMASHERS: THE MAYFLOWER Myths! Lies! Secrets! Smash the stories behind famous moments in history and expose the hidden truth. Perfect for fans of I Survived and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.
MY DADDY, DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. MY DADDY, DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. What was it like growing up as a son of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.? This picture book memoir by Martin Luther King III, provides insight into one of history’s most fascinating families and into a special bond between father and son.
REACHING FOR THE MOON:  THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF NASA MATHEMATICIAN KATHERINE JOHNSON REACHING FOR THE MOON: THE AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF NASA MATHEMATICIAN KATHERINE JOHNSON The inspiring autobiography of NASA mathematician Katherine Johnson, who helped launch Apollo 11.
RISING WATER: THE STORY OF THE THAI CAVE RESCUE RISING WATER: THE STORY OF THE THAI CAVE RESCUE The incredible true story of the twelve boys trapped with their coach in a flooded cave in Thailand and their inspiring rescue.
ROSA'S BUS ROSA'S BUS Like all buses in Montgomery, Alabama in the 1950's, Bus #2857 was segregated: white passengers sat in the front and black passengers sat in the back—until Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to a white passenger.
SMART ABOUT THE FIFTY STATES SMART ABOUT THE FIFTY STATES The kids in Ms. Brandt's class create a special report on the United States of America, with each child doing research on ten states. There's a double-spread map of the whole U.S. and a page for every state jam-packed with trivia, interesting facts, handwritten captions, and jokes. At the end of the book is a map showing how the United States grew over time, a spread on the presidents and what states they hailed from.