In this first of a new series that is a cross between a picture book and early reader, Mr. Monkey bakes a banana cake, but, due to his eating lots of the main ingredient in the process, is too full to eat it.  He decides to take it to the cake show across town, but a variety of light-hearted obstacles almost result in a cake catastrophe. Finally arriving at the show, only to discover that it is over, Mr. Monkey believes things can’t get any worse, but, oh boy, is he wrong!  The illustrations accent Mr. Monkey’s range of facial expressions and the simple speech balloon text combine to produce a book sure to be a new favorite of young readers! Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie.