<- Back

Author:  Panteleakos, Nicole
Reading Grade:  5.0

PLANET EARTH IS BLUE

PLANET EARTH IS BLUE

Author: Panteleakos, Nicole

Reading Grade: 5.0

$16.99

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.

Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home.

While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

SKU: 9780525646570 Category:

Additional information

Author

Publisher

Reading Grade

Close

Search by...

show blocks helper

Select Grade Level... +

Author +

Filter by Price

  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Series +

Categories +