Books

(Sign in to see just the book fair categories for your school)

Search by...

WooCommerce Products Filter
show blocks helper

Reading Grade - Under Construction

Price

Categories

UNSUNG HERO OF BIRDSONG, USA
Unsung Hero of Birdsong, Usa

The Coretta Scott King Honor-winning author tells the moving story of the friendship between a young white boy and a Black WWII veteran who has recently returned to the unwelcoming Jim Crow South.

For Gabriel Haberlin, life seems pretty close to perfect in the small southern town of Birdsong, USA. But on his twelfth birthday, his point of view begins to change. It all starts when he comes face-to-face with one of the worst drivers in town while riding his new bicycle–an accident that would have been tragic if Mr. Meriwether Hunter hadn’t been around to push him out of harm’s way.
     After the accident, Gabriel and Meriwether become friends when they both start working at Gabriel’s dad’s auto shop, and Meriwether lets a secret slip: He served in the army’s all-black 761st Tank Battalion in World War II. Soon Gabriel learns why it’s so dangerous for Meriwether to talk about his heroism in front of white people, and Gabriel’s eyes are finally opened to the hard truth about Birdsong–and his understanding of what it means to be a hero will never be the same.

$8.99 View Product
Unteachables

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher—perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day.

The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can’t read; Kiana, who doesn’t even belong in the class—or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.

Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that idea—and it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables.

The Unteachables never thought they’d find a teacher who had a worse attitude than they did. And Mr. Kermit never thought he would actually care about teaching again. Over the course of a school year, though, room 117 will experience mayhem, destruction—and maybe even a shot at redemption.

$7.99 View Product
UNTIL TOMORROW, MR. MARSWORTH
Until Tomorrow, Mr. Marsworth

Set against the backdrop of the Vietnam War, one young girl is determined to save her brother from the draft—and gets help from an unlikely source—in this middle-grade tale, perfect for fans of The Wednesday Wars
 
When eleven-year-old Reenie Kelly’s mother passes away, she and her brothers are shipped off to live with their grandmother. Adjusting to life in her parents’ Midwestern hometown isn’t easy, but once Reenie takes up a paper route with her older brother Dare, she has something she can look forward to. As they introduce themselves to every home on their route, Reenie’s stumped by just one—the house belonging to Mr. Marsworth, the town recluse. When he doesn’t answer his doorbell, Reenie begins to leave him letters. Slowly, the two become pen pals, striking up the most unlikely of friendships.

Through their letters, Reenie tells of her older brother Billy, who might enlist to fight in the Vietnam War. Reenie is desperate to stop him, and when Mr. Marsworth hears this, he knows he can’t stand idly by. As a staunch pacifist, Mr. Marsworth offers to help Reenie. Together, they concoct a plan to keep Billy home, though Reenie doesn’t know Mr. Marsworth’s dedication to her cause goes far beyond his antiwar beliefs.

In this heartwarming piece of historical fiction, critically acclaimed author Sheila O’Connor delivers a tale of devotion, sacrifice, and family.

$8.99 View Product
UNWANTEDS
Unwanteds

A riveting middlegrade dystopian novel from New York Times bestselling Wake author Lisa McMann that Kirkus Reviews calls “The Hunger Games meets Harry Potter.”

Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths.

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret–behind the mirage of the “death farm” there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it’s a wondrous transformation.

But it’s a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron’s bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.

$8.99 View Product
Up a Road Slowly
Up a Road Slowly

The beloved author of Across Five Aprils and No Promises in the Wind presents one of her most cherished novels, the Newbery Award-winning story of a young girl’s coming of age…

Julie would remember her happy days at Aunt Cordelia’s forever. Running through the spacious rooms, singing on rainy nights in front of the fireplace. There were the rides in the woods on Peter the Great, and the races with Danny Trevort. There were the precious moments alone in her room at night, gazing at the sea of stars.

But there were sad times too—the painful jealousy Julie felt after her sister married, the tragic death of a schoolmate and the bitter disappointment of her first love. Julie was having a hard time believing life was fair. But Julie would have to be fair to herself before she could even think about new beginnings…

“Hunt demonstrates that she is a writer of the first rank…Those who follow Julie’s growth—from a tantrum-throwing seven-year-old to a gracious young woman of seventeen—will find this book has added a new dimension to their lives.”—The New York Times Book Review

$6.99 View Product
UP CLOSE WITH BUGS
Up Close With Bugs

Amazing micrograph photography helps readers find out if bugs get an undeserved bad rap in this nonfiction picture book.

Bugs bite, drink blood, and eat food in our fields and gardens. Is bugging a crime? Decide for yourself! Read “rap sheets” on the major categories of insects, and marvel at photomicrographs that magnify bug parts by 10 to 300,000 times! But once you’ve learned about insect habits, you may come to agree that bugs are our friends… not our foes. Meticulous research combined with lively writing and a kid-friendly approach to turn learning about insects into an intriguing case. First published in hardcover as Bug Shots, this title is being repackaged as a companion to Up Close with Spiders (Spidermania).

$8.99 View Product
UP CLOSE WITH SPIDERS
Up Close With Spiders

Debunking myths about spiders, this book takes an extremely close look at creatures that both fascinate and terrify humans.

An introduction explains what makes spiders unique. Then ten species are highlighted with incredible electron micrograph photographs and surprising facts. From diving bell spiders that live in bubbles underwater, to spitting spiders that shoot venomous wads of spit at their prey, to black widows and wolf spiders, this unusual book will intrigue readers and help dispel arachnophobia. First published in 2015 as Spidermania, this title has been repackaged as a companion to Up Close with Bugs (Bug Shots).

$8.99 View Product
Up From Slavery
Up From Slavery

The dramatic autobiographical account of Booker T. Washington’s unique American experience—a struggle against social and ideological bias that he began as a slave and never stopped. 

“Washington’s story of himself, as half-seen by himself, is one of America’s most revealing books.”—Langston Hughes

Historically acknowledged as one of America’s most powerful and persuasive orators, Booker T. Washington consistently challenged the forces of racial prejudice at a time when such behavior from a black man was unheard of. While his stance on the separation of the races would become controversial, he worked tirelessly to convince blacks to work together as one people in order to improve their lives and the future of their race.

Spanning from his fight for education through his founding of the world-renowned Tuskegee Institute, Washington’s Up from Slavery remains one of the most significant and defining works in American literature.

$5.95 View Product
Up in the Air/Under the Waves
Up in the Air/Under the Waves

Nickelodeon’s PAW Patrol stars in two stories in one all-new Step 2 deluxe Step into Reading leveled reader–plus a poster!

Boys and girls ages 4 to 6 will love this Step into Reading leveled reader, which features Nickelodeon’s PAW Patrol in two amazing adventures. In the first tale, Skye leads the Air Patroller on a mission to save a troubled plane. In the second story, Marshall and the Sea Patroller rescue a sunken ship.

This Step 2 reader includes a big full-color poster. Step 2 readers use basic vocabulary and short sentences to tell simple stories. For children who recognize familiar words and can sound out new words with help.

$5.99 View Product
UPSIDE-DOWN MAGIC
Upside-Down Magic

Meet the Upside-Down Magic kids in the first topsy-turvy adventure of this New York Times bestselling series, now a Disney Channel Original Movie!

It’s never easy when your magic goes wonky.

For Nory, this means that instead of being able to turn into a dragon or a kitten, she turns into both of them at the same time — a dritten.

For Elliott, the simple act of conjuring fire from his fingertips turns into a fully frozen failure.

For Andres, wonky magic means he’s always floating in the air, bouncing off the walls, or sitting on the ceiling.

For Bax, a bad moment of magic will turn him into a . . . actually, he’d rather not talk about that.

Nory, Elliott, Andres, and Bax are just four of the students in Dunwiddle Magic School’s Upside-Down Magic class. In their classroom, lessons are unconventional, students are unpredictable, and magic has a tendency to turn wonky at the worst possible moments. Because it’s always amazing, the trouble a little wonky magic can cause . . .

$5.99 View Product
US MARINES: RAPID RESPONSE FORCE
Us Marines: Rapid Response Force

Learn About The Elite U.S. Marines And The Training It Takes To Defend America. Integrates Text Features Such As Maps And Timelines.

$6.99 View Product