ACT (GRAPHIC)
Act (Graphic)

Act is the funny and honest follow-up to the middle school graphic novel sensations Click and Camp. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Shannon Hale, and Victoria Jamieson.
 
How do you know when the person who can make the difference . . . is you?
 
Olive is excited to start sixth grade: new teachers, new experiences, and a field trip to the big city with her best buds!
 
But when Olive finds out that a school policy is keeping some kids from going on the trip, she decides to act. She's prepared to do whatever it takes to be heard—even if it means running against Trent and Sawyer, two of her closest friends, in the student council election! With intense campaign competition and emotions running high, can Olive make a big change and keep her friends?
 
New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller crafts a genuine and inspiring story about evolving friendships, supportive family, and finding out that you—yes, you—have the power to make a difference.

$12.99 View Product
ALL ABOUT SAM
All About Sam

At last Sam, Anastasia Krupnik's irrepressible little brother, gets a chance to tell his own story. From his first days at the hospital, through his Terrible Twos, to his first days at nursery school, we see what Sam is really like. But things are never quite like they seem. In the delivery room, Sam's first words, "Don't drop me," are heard only as "Waaaaahhhh!" And even though he has a perfectly logical explanation for flushing his sister's goldfish down the toilet, no one understands. From training pants to moving day to nursery school, Sam continually tries to unravel the mysteries of the world at large, facing each crisis and adventure head on and responding with his own brand of humor, candor, and naive insight.

$6.99 View Product
ALONE IN THE WILD
Alone in the Wild

In this exciting choose-your-own-trail stand-alone experience featuring 8-bit art, it's 1849 and you are at the halfway point on your journey west on the Oregon Trail. When a powerful storm separates you from your family, you must use all of your smarts to survive on your own. Along the way, you meet a twelve-year-old girl from the Shoshone Nation, who has the grit and smarts to help you both make it to Oregon Territory.

Which path will get you safely across the country and reunited with your family?

With twenty-two possible endings, choose wrong and you'll never live out your dreams. Choose right and blaze a trail that gets you to Oregon City!

Twitter: @oregontrail
Facebook: facebook.com/oregontrail/

$7.99 View Product
ANIMALS BY THE NUMBERS
Animals by the Numbers

How many species are there across the globe?  
How much do all of the insects in the world collectively weigh? 
How far can animals travel? 
 
     Steve Jenkins answers these questions and many more with numbers, images, innovation, and authoritative science in his latest work of illustrated nonfictionJenkins layers his signature cut-paper illustrations alongside computer graphics and a text that is teeming with fresh, unexpected, and accurate zoological information ready for readers to easily devour. The level of scientific research paired with Jenkins’ creativity and accessible infographics is unmatched and sure to wow fans old and new.

$17.99 View Product
ATTABOY, SAM
Attaboy, Sam!

Why won't Sam Krupnik allow his mother to enter his bedroom? Why has he started calling his toy box The Lab? And why does he carry a Ziplock bag in his pocket al all times? What's the big secret? Well, his mother's birthday is approaching, and she has told her family that what she really wants are homemade gifts. Sam has decided to invent a special, surprise perfume just for her–a concoction that will combine all of her favorite smells. Now the question is: Exactly how does one go about bottling the quirky collection of scents on Mrs. Krupnik's list of favorites? If anyone can find a way–or at least have loads of fun trying–it's Sam, Anastasia's precocious younger borther.

$6.99 View Product
AVALANCHE!
Avalanche!

A high-stakes adventure series perfect for fans of the I Survived series and Hatchet. Twelve-year-old twins Ashley and Ryan are skiing with their parents in Wyoming's Grand Teton Mountains where there is a ground-shaking rumble. Unstable snow rushes downhill and buries them in icy white. It will take all of their knowledge and grit to survive.
     With seventeen years of hands-on experience and training in remote areas, survival expert Terry Lynn Johnson (Ice Dogs; Sled Dog School) creates on-the-edge-of-your-seat storytelling featuring the real skills that kids need to survive a disaster. This page-turner with illustrations includes survival tips from the National Avalanche Center and U.S. Forest Service. You could have a better chance of surviving a real-life avalanche after reading this book!
     Stay calm. Stay smart. Survive. 

$6.99 View Product
BORROWERS
Borrowers

The Borrowers—the Clock family: Homily, Pod, and their fourteen-year-old daughter, Arrietty, to be precise—are tiny people who live underneath the kitchen floor of an old English country manor. All their minuscule home furnishings, from postage stamp paintings to champagne cork chairs, are “borrowed” from the “human beans” who tromp around loudly above them. All is well until Pod is spotted upstairs by a human boy! Can the Clocks stay nested safely in their beloved hidden home, or will they be forced to flee? The British author Mary Norton won the Carnegie Medal for The Borrowers in 1952, the year it was first published in England. This repackaged paperback edition still has the delightful original black-and-white illustrations by Beth and Joe Krush inside. A charmer!
Awards: 1952 Carnegie Medal, a Lewis Carroll Shelf Award Book
Don’t miss the other classics in the Borrowers series: The Borrowers Afield, The Borrowers Afloat, The Borrowers Aloft, and The Borrowers Avenged.

$7.99 View Product
BRONZE BOW
Bronze Bow

He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze. –from the Song of David (2 Samuel 22:35)
The Bronze Bow, written by Elizabeth George Speare (author of The Witch of Blackbird Pond) won the Newbery Medal in 1962. This gripping, action-packed novel tells the story of eighteen-year-old Daniel bar Jamin—a fierce, hotheaded young man bent on revenging his father’s death by forcing the Romans from his land of Israel. Daniel’s palpable hatred for Romans wanes only when he starts to hear the gentle lessons of the traveling carpenter, Jesus of Nazareth. A fast-paced, suspenseful, vividly wrought tale of friendship, loyalty, the idea of home, community . . . and ultimately, as Jesus says to Daniel on page 224: “Can’t you see, Daniel, it is hate that is the enemy? Not men. Hate does not die with killing. It only springs up a hundredfold. The only thing stronger than hate is love.” A powerful, relevant read in turbulent times.

$8.99 View Product
CALAMITY IN THE COLD
Calamity in the Cold

In this choose-your-own-trail experience, you’re traveling all the way from Florida, heading west to the Oregon Trail. See if you can make it to Oregon City!

It’s 1845 and your family is fleeing Florida with hopes of starting fresh out west. You’ll encounter sudden snowstorms that will overwhelm your wagon train en route to the Oregon Trail. Food will become scarce—and you’ll get lost. Can you survive the unseasonably cold climates? If you make the right choices, you could find the Lewis-Clark Trail, which would lead back to the Oregon Trail—though it will take longer than you’d planned. Do you have the supplies to last? Can you survive the harsh cold and sickness, pioneer? Choose right and blaze a trail to Oregon City! Includes a map and useful tips on how to survive the Trail.

$7.99 View Product
CAMP
Camp

For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a graphic novel about venturing off to summer camp for the first time and stepping out of one's comfort zone.

$12.99 View Product
CLASS ACTION
Class Action

One sixth grader takes his battle against homework all the way to the Supreme Court! 

Sixth-grader Sam Warren is sick of stressing over assignments, and that's exactly what he tells his teacher: NO. MORE. HOMEWORK! 

Suspended from school, Sam recruits his elderly neighbor, ex-attorney Mr. Kalman, to the cause. He's ready to file a class action suit on behalf of all the children in Los Angeles, and eventually the country. Their argument? Homework is unconstitutional.  

With his sister, Sadie, Mr. Kalman, and his besties, Sam takes his case to Washington, D.C., and the highest court in the land. Will Sam's case pay off and allow him and his friends some time to grow and play, or will he just look like the laziest kid in America?

$7.99 View Product
CLICK
Click

For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you "click" in middle school.

Olive wants to get in on the act . . .
. . . Any act!

Olive “clicks” with everyone in the fifth grade—until one day she doesn’t. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends have already formed their own groups . . . without her. With the performance drawing closer by the minute, will Olive be able to find her own place in the show before the curtain comes up?
        Author-illustrator Kayla Miller has woven together a heartfelt and insightful story about navigating friendships, leaning on family, and learning to take the stage in the most important role of all.
 

$12.99 View Product