ACT (GRAPHIC)
ACT (GRAPHIC)
Act (Graphic)

Act is the funny and honest follow-up to the middle school graphic novel sensations Click and Camp. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Shannon Hale, and Victoria Jamieson.
 
How do you know when the person who can make the difference . . . is you?
 
Olive is excited to start sixth grade: new teachers, new experiences, and a field trip to the big city with her best buds!
 
But when Olive finds out that a school policy is keeping some kids from going on the trip, she decides to act. She's prepared to do whatever it takes to be heard—even if it means running against Trent and Sawyer, two of her closest friends, in the student council election! With intense campaign competition and emotions running high, can Olive make a big change and keep her friends?
 
New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller crafts a genuine and inspiring story about evolving friendships, supportive family, and finding out that you—yes, you—have the power to make a difference.

$12.99 View Product
ALL ABOUT SAM
ALL ABOUT SAM
All About Sam

At last Sam, Anastasia Krupnik's irrepressible little brother, gets a chance to tell his own story. From his first days at the hospital, through his Terrible Twos, to his first days at nursery school, we see what Sam is really like. But things are never quite like they seem. In the delivery room, Sam's first words, "Don't drop me," are heard only as "Waaaaahhhh!" And even though he has a perfectly logical explanation for flushing his sister's goldfish down the toilet, no one understands. From training pants to moving day to nursery school, Sam continually tries to unravel the mysteries of the world at large, facing each crisis and adventure head on and responding with his own brand of humor, candor, and naive insight.

$6.99 View Product
ALL THE LOVELY BAD ONES
ALL THE LOVELY BAD ONES
All the Lovely Bad Ones

Travis and his sister, Corey, can’t resist a good trick. When they learn that their grandmother’s quiet Vermont inn, where they’re spending the summer, has a history of ghost sightings, they decide to do a little “haunting” of their own. Before long, their supernatural pranks have tourists flocking to the inn, and business booms.
     But Travis and Corey soon find out that they aren’t the only ghosts at Fox Hill Inn. Their thoughtless games have awakened something dangerous, something that should have stayed asleep. Can these siblings lay to rest the ghosts they’ve stirred?

$7.99 View Product
ANIMALS BY THE NUMBERS
ANIMALS BY THE NUMBERS
Animals by the Numbers

How many species are there across the globe?  
How much do all of the insects in the world collectively weigh? 
How far can animals travel? 
 
     Steve Jenkins answers these questions and many more with numbers, images, innovation, and authoritative science in his latest work of illustrated nonfictionJenkins layers his signature cut-paper illustrations alongside computer graphics and a text that is teeming with fresh, unexpected, and accurate zoological information ready for readers to easily devour. The level of scientific research paired with Jenkins’ creativity and accessible infographics is unmatched and sure to wow fans old and new.

$17.99 View Product
ATTABOY, SAM
ATTABOY, SAM
Attaboy, Sam!

Why won't Sam Krupnik allow his mother to enter his bedroom? Why has he started calling his toy box The Lab? And why does he carry a Ziplock bag in his pocket al all times? What's the big secret? Well, his mother's birthday is approaching, and she has told her family that what she really wants are homemade gifts. Sam has decided to invent a special, surprise perfume just for her–a concoction that will combine all of her favorite smells. Now the question is: Exactly how does one go about bottling the quirky collection of scents on Mrs. Krupnik's list of favorites? If anyone can find a way–or at least have loads of fun trying–it's Sam, Anastasia's precocious younger borther.

$6.99 View Product
AVALANCHE!
AVALANCHE!
Avalanche!

A high-stakes adventure series perfect for fans of the I Survived series and Hatchet. Twelve-year-old twins Ashley and Ryan are skiing with their parents in Wyoming's Grand Teton Mountains where there is a ground-shaking rumble. Unstable snow rushes downhill and buries them in icy white. It will take all of their knowledge and grit to survive.
     With seventeen years of hands-on experience and training in remote areas, survival expert Terry Lynn Johnson (Ice Dogs; Sled Dog School) creates on-the-edge-of-your-seat storytelling featuring the real skills that kids need to survive a disaster. This page-turner with illustrations includes survival tips from the National Avalanche Center and U.S. Forest Service. You could have a better chance of surviving a real-life avalanche after reading this book!
     Stay calm. Stay smart. Survive. 

$6.99 View Product
BETTER HOMES & GARDENS JR. COOKBOOK
BETTER HOMES & GARDENS JR. COOKBOOK
Better Homes & Gardens Jr. Cookbook

This new and fully revised edition of the beloved New Junior Cookbook is the perfect way to introduce children ages 6 to 10 to the rules of the kitchen and successful cooking. The book begins with the framework needed for navigating the kitchen––safety is always first. Then recipe chapters that cover breakfast, brunch, supper, snacks, and desserts draw in children with their colorful and whimsical illustrations. All recipes in this edition are new, and are nutritious without sacrificing great taste. Throughout, kids learn the message that good food fuels the body, and the recipes, tips, and hints hone that message. Each recipe is easy to follow, with a simple-to-read ingredient list, a list of tools needed, and a step-by-step method. In addition, there are food swaps in recipes, turning kids from picky eaters into chefs who customize their food as they please. Full nutrition, including grams of sugar, is included in every recipe.

$17.99 View Product
BIG SURPRISE
BIG SURPRISE
Big Surprise

It's Mouse's birthday—and her friends Dog, Frog, Cat, Fox, and Snake have something special in store!

$3.95 View Product
The Black Pearl
The Black Pearl
Black Pearl

From the depths of a cave in the Vermilion Sea, Ramon Salazar has wrested a black pearl so lustrous and captivating that his father, an expert pearl dealer, is certain Ramon has found the legendary Pearl of Heaven. Such a treasure is sure to bring great joy to the villagers of their tiny coastal town, and even greater renown to the Salazar name. No diver, not even the swaggering Gaspar Ruiz, has ever found a pearl like this!

But is there a price to pay for a prize so great? When a terrible tragedy strikes the village, old Luzon’s warning about El Diablo returns to haunt Ramon. If El Diablo actually exists, it will take all Ramon’s courage to face the winged creature waiting for him offshore.

$7.99 View Product
BORROWERS
BORROWERS
Borrowers

The Borrowers—the Clock family: Homily, Pod, and their fourteen-year-old daughter, Arrietty, to be precise—are tiny people who live underneath the kitchen floor of an old English country manor. All their minuscule home furnishings, from postage stamp paintings to champagne cork chairs, are “borrowed” from the “human beans” who tromp around loudly above them. All is well until Pod is spotted upstairs by a human boy! Can the Clocks stay nested safely in their beloved hidden home, or will they be forced to flee? The British author Mary Norton won the Carnegie Medal for The Borrowers in 1952, the year it was first published in England. This repackaged paperback edition still has the delightful original black-and-white illustrations by Beth and Joe Krush inside. A charmer!
Awards: 1952 Carnegie Medal, a Lewis Carroll Shelf Award Book
Don’t miss the other classics in the Borrowers series: The Borrowers Afield, The Borrowers Afloat, The Borrowers Aloft, and The Borrowers Avenged.

$7.99 View Product
The Borrowers Afloat
The Borrowers Afloat
Borrowers Afloat
Uprooted once again, the little people journey down a drain, live briefly in a teakettle, and are swept away in a flood. “As irresistible as its predecessors.”–Booklist
$7.99 View Product
BRONZE BOW
BRONZE BOW
Bronze Bow

He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze. –from the Song of David (2 Samuel 22:35)
The Bronze Bow, written by Elizabeth George Speare (author of The Witch of Blackbird Pond) won the Newbery Medal in 1962. This gripping, action-packed novel tells the story of eighteen-year-old Daniel bar Jamin—a fierce, hotheaded young man bent on revenging his father’s death by forcing the Romans from his land of Israel. Daniel’s palpable hatred for Romans wanes only when he starts to hear the gentle lessons of the traveling carpenter, Jesus of Nazareth. A fast-paced, suspenseful, vividly wrought tale of friendship, loyalty, the idea of home, community . . . and ultimately, as Jesus says to Daniel on page 224: “Can’t you see, Daniel, it is hate that is the enemy? Not men. Hate does not die with killing. It only springs up a hundredfold. The only thing stronger than hate is love.” A powerful, relevant read in turbulent times.

$8.99 View Product