10 TRIM THE TREE-ERS
10 TRIM THE TREE-ERS

Help your children count down to Christmas with ten little neighbors trimming the tree in their building’s lobby.
                                                                                         
1 shiny golden star at the very tip top.
2 strings of flashing lights that just won’t stop.

Janet Schulman and Linda Davick, the creators of 10 Trick-or-Treaters and 10 Easter Egg Hunters, return with this brightly colored Christmas board book that begs to be read aloud again and again.

$6.99 View Product +
13 WAYS TO EAT A FLY
13 WAYS TO EAT A FLY

Thirteen flies become tasty snacks in this clever reverse counting book about subtraction, predators, and prey.

Science meets subtraction in this fresh and funny STEM picture book with plenty of ewww factor to please young readers. A swarm of thirteen flies buzzes along, losing one member to each predator along the way. Whether the unfortunate insects are zapped or wrapped, liquefied or zombified, the science is real–and hilariously gross. Includes a guide to eating bugs, complete with nutritional information for a single serving of flies.

$16.99 View Product +
365 DAYS OF WONDER
365 DAYS OF WONDER

Over 13 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Wonder— now, the wonder returns with a companion book of life lessons and inspiration from Auggie’s favorite teacher—perfect for back to school! Based on the book that inspired the Choose Kind movement and a major motion picture, readers will fall in love all over again with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

And don’t miss R.J. Palacio’s highly anticipated new novel, Pony, available September 2021!

In Wonder, readers were introduced to memorable English teacher Mr. Browne and his love of precepts. This companion book features conversations between Mr. Browne and Auggie, Julian, Summer, Jack Will, and others, giving readers a special peek at their lives after Wonder ends. Mr. Browne’s essays and correspondence are rounded out by a precept for each day of the year—drawn from popular songs to children’s books to inscriptions on Egyptian tombstones to fortune cookies. His selections celebrate the goodness of human beings, the strength of people’s hearts, and the power of people’s wills.

There’s something for everyone here, with words of wisdom from such noteworthy people as Anne Frank, Martin Luther King Jr., Confucius, Goethe, Sappho—and over 100 readers of Wonder who sent R. J. Palacio their own precepts.

$9.99 View Product +
A BLACK HOLE IS NOT A HOLE
A BLACK HOLE IS NOT A HOLE

A black hole isn’t really a hole . . . is it? Get ready to S-T-R-E-T-C-H your mind with this beloved and best-selling science book. Updated with an all-new chapter about the first black-hole image ever!

What are black holes, what causes them, and how the heck did scientists discover them? Acclaimed STEM writer Carolyn DeCristofano’s playful text shares how astronomers find black holes, introduces our nearest black-hole neighbors, and provides an excellent introduction to an extremely complex scientific topic. Gorgeous space paintings supplement real telescopic images, and funny doodles and speech bubbles keep the content light and fun.

$9.99 View Product +
A FROG'S LIFE
A FROG'S LIFE

A stunningly illustrated introduction to our planet’s many frog species!

Frogs, frogs, and more frogs! This exciting survey of the world’s frog species will introduce children to varieties as diverse as the golden poison frog (the planet’s most toxic animal), the Amau frog (so tiny it’s no bigger than a
housefly), and the Chinese gliding frog (which can “fly” up to 17 feet)!

Their different hunting techniques, preferred foods, body types, and methods of defense are covered, as are the universal basics of the frog life cycle. Colorful, scientifically accurate illustration is paired with a distinguished
nonfiction writer’s plain, energetic text in this excellent introduction to the diversity and fundamentals of frogs. Back matter includes information on frog disappearances and conservation efforts.

A Cybils Awards Finalist in the Elementary Nonfiction category!

$8.99 View Product +
A PLACE TO HANG THE MOON
A PLACE TO HANG THE MOON

For fans of The War That Saved My Life and other World War II fiction, A Place to Hang the Moon is the tale of three orphaned siblings who are evacuated from London to live in the countryside with the secret hope of finding a permanent family.

It is 1940 and William, 12, Edmund, 11, and Anna, 9, aren’t terribly upset by the death of the not-so-grandmotherly grandmother who has taken care of them since their parents died. But the children do need a guardian, and in the dark days of World War II London, those are in short supply, especially if they hope to stay together. Could the mass wartime evacuation of children from London to the countryside be the answer?

It’s a preposterous plan, but off they go– keeping their predicament a secret, and hoping to be placed in a temporary home that ends up lasting forever. Moving from one billet to another, the children suffer the cruel trickery of foster brothers, the cold realities of outdoor toilets and the hollowness of empty stomachs. They find comfort in the village lending library, whose kind librarian, Nora Müller, seems an excellent choice of billet, except that her German husband’s whereabouts are currently unknown, and some of the villagers consider her unsuitable.
A Place to Hang the Moon is a story about the dire importance of family: the one you’re given, and the one you choose.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

$17.99 View Product +
ACROSS THE SEA
ACROSS THE SEA

Anna and Elsa from Disney’s Frozen sail off on a new adventure in this Step 2 Step into Reading book. Boys and girls ages 4 to 6 will love this leveled reader featuring a glittery cover and over 30 sparkly stickers! Step 2 readers use basic vocabulary and short sentences to tell simple stories. This book is for children who recognize familiar words and can sound out new words with help.

$4.99 View Product +
ALL BOTTLED UP!
ALL BOTTLED UP!

When Shimmer and Shine open a super-sparkly bottle, they accidentally get trapped inside. Now it’s up to Leah to rescue them—without using any wishes! Boys and girls ages 3 to 7 will love this exciting full-color storybook featuring Nickelodeon’s Shimmer and Shine, which includes a glitter poster and glitter on every page!
 
Boom, Zahramay! Join the madcap magical adventures of genie-in-training twin sisters, Shimmer and Shine, as they grant wishes for their best human friend, Leah, and show preschoolers that things are always better when you work together.

$5.99 View Product +
ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES
ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES

The beloved New York Times bestseller that Entertainment Weekly described as “sparkling” and says “get[s] under your skin.” You won’t soon forget this heart-wrenching, unflinching story of love shared, life lived, and two teens who find each other while standing on the edge.
 
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might kill himself, but every day he also searches for—and manages to find—something to keep him here, and alive, and awake.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground— it’s unclear who saves whom. Soon it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. . . .
 
 
“A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe.” —Justine Magazine
 
“At the heart—a big one—of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.” —The New York Times Book Review 
 
“A heart-rending, stylish love story.” —The Wall Street Journal
 
“A complex love story that will bring all the feels.” —Seventeen Magazine
 
Impressively layered, lived-in, and real.” —Buzzfeed.com

$10.99 View Product +
ALMOST HOME
ALMOST HOME

Newbery Honor winner Joan Bauer’s new novel will touch your heart

When twelve-year-old Sugar’s grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, only to discover that fresh starts aren’t so easy to come by for the homeless. Nevertheless, Sugar’s mother has taught her to be grateful no matter what, so Sugar does her best. With the help of a rescue dog, Shush; a foster family; a supportive teacher; a love of poetry; and her own grace and good humor, Sugar comes to understand that while she can’t control the hand life deals her, she can control how she responds.

$8.99 View Product +
AMAL UNBOUND
AMAL UNBOUND

A New York Times Bestseller!

Amal has big dreams, until a nightmarish encounter . . .

Twelve-year-old Amal’s dream of becoming a teacher one day is dashed in an instant when she accidentally insults a member of her Pakistani village’s ruling family. As punishment for her behavior, she is forced to leave her heartbroken family behind and go work at their estate.

Amal is distraught but has faced setbacks before. So she summons her courage and begins navigating the complex rules of life as a servant, with all its attendant jealousies and pecking-order woes. Most troubling, though, is Amal’s increasing awareness of the deadly measures the Khan family will go to in order to stay in control. It’s clear that their hold over her village will never loosen as long as everyone is too afraid to challenge them–so if Amal is to have any chance of ensuring her loved ones’ safety and winning back her freedom, she must find a way to work with the other servants to make it happen.

$8.99 View Product +
ANIMAL ANTICS
ANIMAL ANTICS

Have you ever wondered how ants carry up to 50 times their body weight? Or why sloths move so slowly? Discover the answers to these questions and more as you laugh along at the hilarious pictures in this fun non-fiction book for kids.

Animal Antics is jam-packed with funny photos of animals in action. Look out for goats popping up in unexpected places, zebras and chimpanzees grinning for the camera, and adorable chipmunks with bulging cheeks. Alongside high quality images, each page features mind-boggling facts about your favourite animals, including how they get around, what they like to eat, and how they stay cool or keep warm.

Children will love this fresh glimpse into the lives of loads of weird and wonderful animals.

$12.99 View Product +