ABRAHAM LINCOLN, PRO WRESTLER
ABRAHAM LINCOLN, PRO WRESTLER

From nonfiction powerhouse Steve Sheinkin comes a hilarious new fictional chapter book series where history and hijinks collide, featuring Abraham Lincoln as a pro-wrestler.

WARNING: DO NOT BELIEVE THE STORY YOU’RE ABOUT TO READ.

Well, you can believe some of it. There is some real history. But also hijinks. Time travel. And famous figures setting off on adventures that definitely never happened—till now. Time is getting twisted, and it’s up to two kids to straighten things out.

When Abraham Lincoln overhears a classroom of kids say “history is boring,” he decides to teach them a lesson. Lincoln escapes from 1860—to pursue his dream of becoming a professional wrestler! Now siblings Doc and Abby have to convince Lincoln to go back to Springfield, Illinois, and accept the presidency . . . before everything spins out of control!

Featuring illustrations by Neil Swaab, Abraham Lincoln, Pro Wrestler is the first chapter book in the Time Twisters series from acclaimed author Steve Sheinkin. Also check out Abigail Adams, Pirate of the Caribbean!

This title has Common Core connections.

$6.99 View Product +
ESCAPE FROM MONTICELLO
ESCAPE FROM MONTICELLO

Letters in a mysterious journal between two sisters describe a lost collection and a missing treasure. As Sam, Derek, and Caitlin realize the letters were from Thomas Jefferson’s granddaughters, they set out to do what they do best–solve the mystery! When the journal is stolen, the kids are forced to hunt down clues by following Jefferson’s footsteps to The University of Virginia, his mountaintop home of Monticello, and a little-known retreat called Poplar Forest. But this isn’t a typical walk through history. Someone from the kids’ past is lurking in the shadows, bent on revenge and threatening to take much more than just the treasure.

Escape from Monticello is the eighth book in The Virginia Mysteries series. The story is the perfect complement to social studies units, field trips, and family vacations related to Thomas Jefferson, Monticello, and Jack Jouett.

$9.99 View Product +
Placeholder
JIGSAW JUNGLE

A mysterious treasure hunt helps to heal a broken family in critically acclaimed author Kristin Levine’s first contemporary tale—perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Jennifer L. Holm
 
Claudia Dalton’s father has disappeared. What began as a late night at work has spiraled into a missing persons case—one that’s left twelve-year-old Claudia questioning everything she’s ever known about her father and their family.

But when she finally gets word from her dad, it turns out he isn’t missing at all. He’s just gone to “think things over” and visit an old friend, whatever that means. Feeling confused and helpless, Claudia starts to assemble a scrapbook, gathering emails, receipts, phone transcripts and more, all in a desperate attempt to figure out what’s happening with her dad. Claudia’s investigation deepens at her grandfather’s house, where she receives an envelope containing a puzzle piece and a cryptic message.

It’s this curious first clue that sets Claudia on an unexpected treasure hunt that she hopes will bring her dad home and heal whatever’s gone wrong with her family. Told through the pages of Claudia’s scrapbook, The Jigsaw Jungle is a moving story of a family lost and then found, with a dash of mystery and loads of heart, from award-winning author and middle-grade master Kristin Levine.

$8.99 View Product +
THIS IS THE ROPE
THIS IS THE ROPE

Jacqueline WoodsonNew York Times Bestselling, National Book Award and Newbery Honor winning author–writes a rich story of a family adapting to change as they hold on to the past and embrace the future. With Coretta Scott King Award–winning illustrator James Ransome.

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature

During the time of the Great Migration, millions of African American families relocated from the South, seeking better opportunities. The story of one family’s journey north during the Great Migration starts with a little girl in South Carolina who finds a rope under a tree one summer. She has no idea the rope will become part of her family’s history. But for three generations, that rope is passed down, used for everything from jump rope games to tying suitcases onto a car for the big move north to New York City, and even for a family reunion where that first little girl is now a grandmother.

$8.99 View Product +
TO THE STARS! THE FIRST AMERICAN WOMAN TO WALK IN SPACE
TO THE STARS! THE FIRST AMERICAN WOMAN TO WALK IN SPACE

Kathy Sullivan wanted to go everywhere. She loved blueprints and maps. She loved languages and the ocean. She didn’t like the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” She wanted to explore and do exciting things that girls weren’t supposed to be able to do. Only men had the exciting jobs.
 
Kathy liked fishing and swimming; flying planes and studying science. That’s what she liked and that’s what she decided to do with her life. She followed her heart and eventually became a NASA astronaut and the first woman to walk in space. Kathy wanted to see the whole world and so she did: from space!
 
Backmatter includes further information about Dr. Sullivan and her career, as well as other famous firsts made by women astronauts.

$7.99 View Product +