12 BEFORE 13
12 BEFORE 13

Fans of Lauren Myracle and Wendy Mass will adore the second book in this hilarious series about two BFFs who master middle school with a list of twelve goals they MUST achieve before their thirteenth birthday.

Inspired by the success of their first birthday bucket list, Ari and her BFF Kaylan set twelve new goals for the next school year. And number one is “keep our friendship strong.”

But after a life-changing summer at camp, Ari feels torn between Kaylan and her camp friends. And as she faces down everything from boys to bat mitzvahs, Ari needs to figure out how to be her best self—before her friends come together at her thirteenth birthday party.

Or the big win she and Kaylan were hoping for may become an epic fail.

$7.99 View Product +
BATS
BATS

Presenting fascinating information on all kinds of bats, from how they use echoes to hear, to the legends that surround them and how to protect the species

Though people often think of bats as scary, bats are really shy, gentle animals. There are nearly 1000 different species of bats, and they live on every continent except Antarctica. Some are tiny, but the giant flying fox bat has a five-foot wingspan! Popular science author Gail Gibbons also discusses the efforts to protect the world’s only truly flying mammals. A final page offers additional facts.

$8.99 View Product +
DARKDEEP
DARKDEEP

“This book left me breathless!” –R. L. Stine, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Goosebumps and Fear Street

“Move over, Stranger Things.” –Melissa de la Cruz, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Descendants series

New York Times bestselling authors Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs team up to co-author this thrilling first book in a darkly suspenseful middle grade series.

Everyone in Timbers knows Still Cove is off-limits, with its creepy Beast sightings and equally terrifying legends. But when a bullying incident sends twelve-year-old Nico Holland over a cliff and into Still Cove’s icy waters, friends Tyler and Emma–and even Opal Walsh, who usually runs with the popular kids–rush to his rescue . . . and discover a mysterious island hiding in the murky, swirling mists below.

Though the island appears uninhabited, the kids can’t shake a feeling that something about it is definitely not right. Their suspicions grow when they stumble upon an abandoned houseboat filled with all sorts of curiosities: odd-looking weapons, unnerving portraits, maps to unknown places, and a glass jar containing something completely unidentifiable. And in its lowest depths churns a dark, deep secret.

As the group delves deeper into this mysterious new clubhouse, their lives begin to intertwine in weird and dangerous ways. For something ancient has awakened . . . and it can detect not only their wishes and dreams, but also their darkest, most terrible imaginings. Do they have what it takes to face the shadowy secrets lurking within their own hearts?

Told from alternating points of view, this pulse-racing tale from bestselling duo Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs is the start of a high-stakes, thrilling series about friendship and believing in yourself–and each other.

$7.99 View Product +
Gaby: Lost and Found
GABY, LOST AND FOUND

Gaby comes to the WISH line! Wanted: One amazing forever home for one amazing sixth grader.

“My name is Gaby, and I’m looking for a home. Having the nicest clothes or cell phone isn’t important, but I’d like to have a cat that I can talk to when I’m home alone.” When Gaby Ramirez Howard starts volunteering at the local animal shelter, she takes special pride in writing adoption advertisements. Her flyers help the cats and dogs there find their forever homes: places where they’ll be loved and cared for, no matter what. Gaby is in need of a forever home herself. Her mother has recently been deported to Honduras and Gaby doesn’t know where to turn. Meanwhile, Gaby’s favorite shelter cat, Feather, needs a new place to live. Gaby would love to adopt her– but if Gaby doesn’t have a place that feels like home to her, how can she help Feather?

$6.99 View Product +
GOLDEN GLOVE
GOLDEN GLOVE

Without his lucky glove, Jamie doesn’t believe in his ability to lead his baseball team to victory.
Jamie lovingly oiled his glove all winter and, as the season approaches, he—and his glove—are in top form. When he carelessly loses his glove, he also loses his faith in himself and it shows in his playing. After an unsuccessful search, Jamie borrows a glove for the season’s opening game. Disappointed in his performance, Jamie seeks help at a local sporting goods shop and finds it in the generosity of the store’s owner—a former minor league player. The old-timer uses the history of baseball gloves and a few fielding tips to demonstrate that no tool—even a lucky glove—is a substitute for confidence and determination.
Author Fred Bowen continues his Sports Story series with play-by-play action that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats! An afterword provides the real story behind baseball gloves.

$6.95 View Product +
GOOD ENOUGH
GOOD ENOUGH

A young girl with an eating disorder must find the strength to recover in this moving middle-grade novel from Jen Petro-Roy

Before she had an eating disorder, twelve-year-old Riley was many things: an aspiring artist, a runner, a sister, and a friend.

But now, from inside the inpatient treatment center where she’s receiving treatment for anorexia, it’s easy to forget all of that. Especially since under the influence of her eating disorder, Riley alienated her friends, abandoned her art, turned running into something harmful, and destroyed her family’s trust.

If Riley wants her life back, she has to recover. Part of her wants to get better. As she goes to therapy, makes friends in the hospital, and starts to draw again, things begin to look up.

But when her roommate starts to break the rules, triggering Riley’s old behaviors and blackmailing her into silence, Riley realizes that recovery will be even harder than she thought. She starts to think that even if she does “recover,” there’s no way she’ll stay recovered once she leaves the hospital and is faced with her dieting mom, the school bully, and her gymnastics-star sister.

Written by an eating disorder survivor and activist, Good Enough is a realistic depiction of inpatient eating disorder treatment, and a moving story about a girl who has to fight herself to survive.

$7.99 View Product +
HOW MOUNTAINS ARE MADE
HOW MOUNTAINS ARE MADE

29,028 feet tall and still growing?!

Even though Mount Everest measures 29,028 feet high, it may be growing about two inches a year. A mountain might be thousands of feet high, but it can still grow taller or shorter each year. Mountains are created when the huge plates that make up the earth's outer shell very slowly pull and push against one another. Read and find out about all the different kinds of mountains.

$5.99 View Product +
MUDDY PAWS
MUDDY PAWS

Beth isn’t having much fun this summer. She’s staying at her aunt and uncle’s farm and her cousin keeps playing tricks on her. But everything changes when Storm, a black-and-white collie pup with twinkling midnight-blue eyes, comes into her life and an amazing friendship begins.

$5.99 View Product +
QUEEN BEE AND ME
QUEEN BEE AND ME

From the highly acclaimed author of Caterpillar Summer comes a heartfelt story about the sweetness and stings of middle-school friendship.

Meg has always found comfort in her best friend Beatrix’s shadow. Self-assured Beatrix is the one who makes decisions, and the girls have been a pair since kindergarten. But middle school has brought some changes in Beatrix, especially when Meg tries to step outside her role as sidekick.

A special science elective is Meg’s first step away, but when she’s paired with quirky new girl Hazel, Beatrix steps in to stake her claim on Meg. Meg is taken aback at how mean Beatrix can be–and how difficult it is to stand up to her friend. But as Meg gets to know Hazel while working on their backyard beehive project, she starts to wonder: Is being Beatrix’s friend worth turning down the possibility of finding her own voice?

This pitch-perfect exploration of middle-school friendship dynamics brims with heart and hope, and will resonate with readers of all ages.

Acclaim for Caterpillar Summer
An Indies Introduce Pick
A Parents Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Year

$16.99 View Product +
RUNNING DREAM
RUNNING DREAM

When Jessica is told she’ll never run again, she puts herself back together—and learns to dream bigger than ever before. The acclaimed author of Flipped delivers a powerful and healing story.
 
Jessica thinks her life is over when she loses a leg in a car accident. She’s not comforted by the news that she’ll be able to walk with the help of a prosthetic leg. Who cares about walking when you live to run?
 
As she struggles to cope, Jessica feels that she’s both in the spotlight and invisible. People who don’t know what to say act like she’s not there. Jessica’s embarrassed to realize that she’s done the same to a girl with CP named Rosa. A girl who is going to tutor her through all the math she’s missed. A girl who sees right into the heart of her.
 
With the support of family, friends, a coach, and her track teammates, Jessica may actually be able to run again. But that’s not enough for her now. She doesn’t just want to cross finish lines herself—she wants to take Rosa with her.
 
“Inspirational. The pace of Van Draanen’s prose matches Jessica’s at her swiftest. Readers will zoom through the book just as Jessica blazes around the track. A lively and lovely story.” —Kirkus Reviews

$9.99 View Product +
SCOUTS
SCOUTS

Stranger Things meets The Goonies in this suspenseful yet heartwarming adventure story about kids who set out to find a crashed meteor . . . but find mystery and danger instead as their friendships begin to fracture.

Annie, Beans, Rocky, and Fynn are the Scouts — best friends who do everything together. It’s 1985, and the summer before seventh grade is just beginning. The Scouts decide to secretly climb Old Man Basinger’s silo to watch a meteor shower, and when one meteor seems to crash nearby, the Scouts know they have to set out on their next adventure and find it.

But their fun overnight jaunt through the woods soon takes a turn for the worst when they discover a series of disturbing clues about the meteor — and suddenly find themselves on the run from the wild, violent Mason clan. Bonds are tested when new kids join their adventure and the group’s true feelings are revealed. Will the Scouts survive this journey together — or will their unbreakable friendships prove vulnerable after all?

$16.99 View Product +
SCOUTS
SCOUTS

Stranger Things meets The Goonies in this suspenseful yet heartwarming adventure story about a group of friends who set out to find a crashed meteor…but find mystery and danger instead as their close relationships begin to fracture.

Annie, Beans, Rocky, and Fynn are the Scouts–best friends who do everything together. It’s 1985, and the summer before seventh grade is just beginning. The Scouts decide to secretly climb Old Man Basinger’s silo to watch a meteor shower, and when one meteor seems to crash nearby, the Scouts know they have to set out on their next adventure and find it.

But their fun overnight jaunt through the woods soon takes a turn for the worst when they discover a series of disturbing clues about the meteor–and suddenly find themselves on the run from the wild, violent Mason clan. Bonds are tested when new kids join their adventure and the group’s true feelings are revealed. Will the Scouts survive this journey together–or will their unbreakable friendships prove vulnerable after all?

$7.99 View Product +